Pluto is a dwarf planet of the Solar System, situated in the Kuiper belt, which is beyond Neptune, the farthest planet of the Solar System. It is not one of the 8 planets (though at one time it was considered a planet bringing the total to 9). It is not visible to the naked eye.


Diameter: 1,860 miles (3,000 km)

Rotation time: 6.39 days

Distance from the Sun: 3,706,780,000 miles (5,965,200,000 km)

Revolution time around the Sun: 247 years

« Back to Glossary Index