Mercury is a planet of the Solar System, closet to the Sun, and is one of the four inner planets. It is the smallest of the Solar System planets. Difficult to see with the naked eye, Mercury is best observed in the tropics and subtropics (especially of the southern hemisphere).



Diameter: 3,032 miles (4,878 km).

Rotation time: 58.65 days.

Distance from the Sun: 35,980,000 miles (57,900,000 km).

Revolution time around the Sun: 88 days.

« Back to Glossary Index