« Back to Glossary Index

Mars is a planet of the Solar System, fourth from the Sun, and one of the four inner planets. It has two moons, Phobos and Deimos. Mars is the Red Planet featuring polar caps that are permanent and can be seen through a home telescope for viewing planets.



Diameter: 4,212 miles (6,778 km)

Rotates once in 24.62 hrs.

Distance from the Sun is 141, 680,000 miles (228,000,000 km).

It takes Mars 1.88 years to revolve once around the Sun.

« Back to Glossary Index